Due to lack of driving experience and risk-taking behaviors, young drivers’ car insurance premiums are among the highest insurance rates. Teenagers are also the most likely to be involved in accidents, with 16-year-old drivers over 2.5 times more likely to be in a crash than 20- to 24-year-old. Racking up tickets or accidents can quickly drive up your teen’s insurance costs with higher rates, classifying them in a high risk auto insurance group.
Your teen driver can lower his car insurance rate by:
In California, persons under age 18 must be accompanied by a parent/guardian or other person specified by law when:
Here are what you need to apply for the permit:
Driver Education and Driver Training Form RequirementsIf you are 15 ½ to 17 ½ years of age, you must provide a:
A parent, guardian, spouse or adult 25 years of age or older, who has a valid California driver license, must be with you when you drive. He or she must sit in a position close enough to take control of the vehicle, if necessary. It is illegal for you to drive alone at any time.
Before being eligible to take your driving test you must:
While many states don’t require liability insurance coverage for teens who have a learners permit, all states, with the exception of New Hampshire, require various types of auto insurance coverage for licensed drivers—and it’s a good idea to adequately protect yourself with full coverage insurance.
Contact us today for a free car insurance quote, we'll show you all your options and how you can save.